News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Verhoeven Open Tournament - New York (USA)

180 Matches marathon in final rounds New York

Posted by on July 26, 2018

180 Matches marathon in final rounds New York

© Kozoom Studio
Vietnamese Nguyen Quoc Nguyen, one of the best group winners

NEW YORK - The Open Verhoeven in New York is entering the next stage of qualifications today (Thursday) with a marathon of 180 matches. Forty players meet in four groups of ten players to 40 points matches. The level will certainly rise, because from now on the seeded players Caudron, Merckx, Sánchez, Sayginer and Blomdahl enter the tournament. The German Martin Horn was the best player in the first preliminaries with 2.142 average.

The other group winners were Nguyen Quoc Nguyen (1.807), Can Capak (1.681), Quyet Chien Tran (1.581), Eddy Leppens (1.578), Roland Forthomme (1.500), Carlos Villegas (1.388), Sameh Sidhom (1.339), Hugo Patino (1.260), Huberney Catano (1.250), Fernando Diaz (1.145), Javier Teran (1.079), Miguel Torres (0.979) and Wilco Meusen (0.806).

Fourteen group winners, fourteen numbers two and four best thirds advanced to the next round with two players from the auction and one player from the lottery. The Dutchman Meerten Dallinga, number two in his group, withdrew for further participation. Quyet Chien Tran was the most notable number three, William Oh even finished fourth in a strong group of seven.

The groups for the second qualifying round:

Group A:
Frédéric Caudron, Eddy Leppens, Quyet Chien Tran, Javier Teran, Wilco Meusen, Can Capak, Young Gull Lee, Herbert Szivacz, Nikolaus Kogelbauer, Carlos Campino.

Group B:
Eddy Merckx, Sameh Sidhom, Roland Forthomme, Hugo Patino, Miguel Torres, Seung Il Jung, Allan Lys Jensen, Bassem Salem, John Hernan, John Petersen.

Group C:
Torbjörn Blomdahl, Nguyen Quoc Nguyen, Martin Horn, Fernando Diaz, Dan Johansen, Sang Jin Lee, Kang Lee, Luis Aveiga, Samir Derradji, William Oh.

Group D:
Dani Sánchez, Semih Sayginer, Carlos Villegas, Huberney Cataño, Young Ha Choi, Dion Nelin, John Park, Vandenver Reina, Michael Kang, Alexander Weiss.

The first rounds for today:
10.00 (US time):
Leppens-Tran, Teran-Kogelbauer, Meusen-Szivacz, Capak-Lee, Nguyen-Derradli, Blomdahl-Oh, Horn-Aveiga, Diaz-Kang Lee, Caudron-Campino, Johansen-SJ Lee.

12.00: Merckx-Petersen, Sidhom-Hernan, Forthomme-Salem, Patino-Jensen, Torres-Jung, Sanchez-Weiss, Sayginer-Kang, Villegas-Reina, Cataño-Park, Choi-Nelin.

Dutchman Wilco Meusen surprised with a win against Dion Nelin and finished unbeaten as group winner

Martin Horn, qualified with over 2 average



Back to All News

My Comments

aveiga 4th in is group and qualifie???loterie?? or......

Message 1/1 - Publish at July 26, 2018 10:45 AM

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom