News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Belgian National Championship Round 22 (BEL)

Caudron-Merckx: magical start on the final day

Posted by on April 18, 2018

Caudron-Merckx: magical start on the final day

Ton Smilde
Frédéric Caudron and Eddy Merckx closed the competition in a special match

MALLE - The comparison with the previous Caudron against Merckx was remarkable. In the previous classic, last month in the Dutch league, Eddy Merckx won the always tough clash 40-34 in 12 innings. In the Belgian league, the two leaders met again yesterday evening in a home match of De Goeie Queue against Quality Zele. The result, after a magical start, was exactly the other way around: Caudron won 50-42 in 12 innings. Highest runs in this game: Merckx 12, Caudron 10. And in the previous game: Merckx 12, Caudron 11. On the 22nd and final match day, De Goeie Queue secured second place due to a 6-2 victory over Zele.

The whirling match start in the Salpho, last night, went into the books as one of the best ever: Merckx scored 12 from the break, Caudron replied 10. The high class start continued to a 30- 22 lead for Caudron in 4 innings. Then, it ran to 42-33 in 7, 49-36 in 9 and in the end, Caudron needed three innings mor to finish: 50-42 in 12. Brilliant start, a faltering ending, but what an average: 4.166 against 3.500!!!

BC Deurne, crowned champion two weeks ago, defeated for his own crowd Mr. 100 Lier by victories of Glenn Hofman vs Peter Ceulemans (50-32 in 25), Jean van Erp vs Raymond Ceulemans (42-39 in 28) and Ludo Dielis vs Bart Ceulemans (42-32 in 40). Only Kurt Ceulemans took victory for his team 50-44 in 36 vs Jef Philipoom.

De Goeie Queue remained second on the ranking, because Jean Paul de Bruijn (50-44 in 39 against Peter De Backer) and Jerry Hermans (42-28 in 31) also won their matches. Jeffrey Jorissen was the only winner in the Quality-team: 42-26 in 33 against Wesley de Jaeger, who will leave De Goeie Queue after this season. Quality Zele has withdrawn his license and asked to play in the second division next year. As a result, one team more will perform in the highest class: De Leug with Frank de Groof, Jeffrey van Nijnatten, Bryan Vangenechten, Lennaert Schrauwen and Rudy Hendrickx. Van Nijnatten leaves, De Jaeger takes his place.

Op the Meir took an 8-0 victory over Biljart Express with Barry van Beers in a striking role on Tuesday-evening: win against Gerwin Valentijn 50-33 in 27 innings. Eddy Leppens defeated Frans van Kuyk 50-39 in 31. Royal Kortrijk also made the maximum profit vs Eeklose. Best man was Martin Ravestyn with 42 in 23 (1.448).


Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom