News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - European Championship - Porto (POR)

Dani Sánchez was almost refused for European championship

Posted by on May 19, 2011

Dani Sánchez was almost refused for European championship

© Guillaume Loiseau
Daniel Sánchez, the world champion: through the back door in the European championship.

PORTO - The world champion Daniel Sánchez may thank his participation in the European championship three-cushion to the organizer of the event in Porto. Jorge Fernandes Alipio has even threatened to cancel the tournament if Sánchez would not play. The Spanish federation had signed in Antonio Ortiz, the champion of his country, as first player, Sánchez was the second man.

According to the rules of the CEB, the European federation, there was no place for the world champion on the format of 32 players. Dick Jaspers has been seeded as the current European champion, 22 players are send out by their country, one player receives a wild card of the organization and eight players are seeded following the ranking of the European federation.

Dani Sánchez: ,,I am the number eleven of the European ranking at the moment. That position is not good enough, they say. My own federation has put me out from participation. I can understand that the Spanish champions must play, but not that the world champion is denied. My disappointment in billiard is very big again. Billiard is getting a crazy world.''

The Spanish three fold world champion has entered the tournamen through the back door yesterday. Jorge Fernandes Alipio, the organizer on behalf of the billiards division of FC Porto, has expressed the CEB his big worry, because he would come into troubles with television and sponsors if the world champion would not play.

The wildcard of the organization, first given to the Portuguese Rui Manuel Costa, is going to Dani Sánchez now, thanks to the organization in Porto. ,,I am very grateful to Mr. Alipio and Rui Costavery grateful'' said Sánchez this morning. Rui Costa is the eighth on the reserve list now.

The participants in the European championships are:
Group A: Dick Jaspers, Andreas Efler, Sameh Sidhom, Arie Salomon.
Group B: Eddy Merckx, Christakis Christoforou, Ramon Hamm, Michel Boulaz.
Group C: Frédéric Caudron, Raimond Burgman, Paulo Andrade, Toni Hannula.
Group D: Torbjörn Blomdahl, Lutfi Cenet, David Pennör, Thorsten Frings.
Group E: Martin Horn, Nikos Polychronopoulos, Tonny Carlsen, Slobodan Soro.
Group F: Filipos Kasidokostas, Daniel Sánchez, Jean van Erp, Ivo Gazdos.
Group G: Tayfun Tasdemir, Jérémy Bury, Danilo Brajkovic, Peter de Backer.
Group H: Jef Philipoom, Marco Zanetti, Thomas Koukis, Balázs Leb.

Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom