News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Kling Masters - Berlicum (NED)

Dick Jaspers, the title and the nr. 1 position at stake

Posted by on January 7, 2019

Dick Jaspers, the title and the nr. 1 position at stake

© Ton Smilde/Kozoom
The ambiance during last year's Masters with Dick Jaspers as the winner

BERLICUM - Dick Jaspers is chasing his next national title in three cushion this week after having closed the most successful year of his career. The reigning Dutch champion enters the arena at the Kling Masters in Berlicum as the title holder.  Also the world champion and after the amazing year 2018 also as the number one in the world. The most important question is: Who can threaten the current leader of the three-cushion world in his own country? Dick Jaspers is on his best, super motivated, ambitious and ready for a new highlight.

In the beautiful billiard arena of D'n Durpsherd, where the organizers will surely create a fantastic atmosphere, Jaspers faces the national title race. The Dutch championship is played at the same time as the Belgian championship this weekend. Dick Jaspers is the number one in the world, followed by Frédéric Caudron. The difference between the two players is minimal, which means that there also a prestigious battle for the world ranking. The national title yields 30 ranking points. Jaspers will remain number one if he extends his Dutch title.

Who are the main competitors in the Kling Masters? Most of all Raimond Burgman, who shone in the Grand Prix tournaments in 2018 and leads the national ranking. And also in the field of sixteen players, Glenn Hoffman, Jean van Erp, Jean Paul de Bruijn and Dave Christiani. And maybe, just like Harrie van de Ven last year, Jeffrey Jorissen, Barry van Beers or other national sub top players can make a big surprise. How will Therese Klompenhouwer maintain herself between the men's top guns as the absolute number one of women's billiards?

The Kling Masters, from Thursday January 10th to Sunday the 13th in Berlicum, is for the Netherlands the year's highlight and launches a year in which many more wonderful events are scheduled. On the Dutch calendar, a World Cup returns for the first time after years. The organizers of the Masters, together with the KNBB, have achieved a huge success in the organizational field. The World Cup will be played in Veghel from th 21st to 27th of October.

Dick Jaspers commented about that top event in his own country: "It is fantastic that there will be another World Cup in the Netherlands. It will undoubtedly be a stimulus for many young billiard players. But also the many billiard supporters in our country can watch the world top now in their own country. I am very grateful to the organizers for this big tournament.''

The world champion now focuses on the Kling Masters and even opens the tournament on Thursday at 1:00pm with a match against Martien van der Spoel. Sixteen players are coming up for the the adventure, challenged by the organizer Biljart Evenementen Nederland with Harry Mathijssen and Ad Smout. It is the sixth time that BEN is the organizer of the Dutch championship after the first time in Kaatsheuvel in 2014.

Harry Mathijssen and Ad Smout: "We are very proud that we can organize this championship again. The Masters has undergone a metamorphosis during this period, it is a true experience to participate, to be a referee or spectator in the stands.''

The Dutch audience, according to the two organizers, must be increasingly convinced that billiards is a full-professional sport. "We as a small European country, despite the enormous entry of three-cushion stars in the Asian countries, still have the world champion in the men and the women in our house. That's why it is very important that we can show billiards more and more on television. Positive developments are underway. It is no longer inconceivable that a final match of one of our tournaments will be broadcast live. There are negotiations with various parties and one tv channel is very interested.''

Paul Brekelmans, interim chairman of the KNBB section three cushion, agrees with the organizers. The 'Brabander', playing a home match, summarizes the great international successes in his preview. "We can also be proud of the popularity of the Grand Prix tournaments, four in total with no less than 413 participants.''

"The final ranking after the last Grand Prix in The Hague appointed the qualified players for the Kling Masters. We wish the BEN organizers lots of success. And also a word of thanks to Kozoom, that will stream the whole tournament live, so that people who stay at home, can see all the matches.''

The most notable change is the organization is that Bennie Deegens returns and will be the sportsdirector.

The entrance to the Kling Masters is free every day except Sunday. A 10 euro entrance fee is requested for the final day. To be sure of a seat, you can already reserve by email:

The game room is D'n Durpsherd in Berlicum.De zestien spelers en de poule-indeling:

The group composition:

Group A:
Raimond Burgman (12 Mai 1964), 4 times winner Masters
Jean van Erp (20 December 1973), 1 time winner Masters
Barry van Beers (15 January 1976)
Wil Janssen (7 December 1948)

Group B:
Dick Jaspers (23 July 1965), 4 times world champion, 19 times Dutch champion
Jeffey Jorissen (23 mei 1984)
Martien van der Spoel (28 december 1981)
Frans van Schaik (5 november 1964)

Poule C:
Glenn Hofman (8 februari 1990)
Huub Wilkowski (18 november 1976)
Kay de Zwart (8 december 1988)
Roland Uijtdewillegen (7 juli 1970)

Poule D:
Jean-Paul de Bruijn (14 maart 1965), 2 keer winnaar Masters
Dave Christiani (18 July 1979)
Therese Klompenhouwere (3 January 1983), ladies world champion and number one in the world
Raymund Swertz (4 September 1988).

The referees for the Kling Masters:
Willem Hofman (55), Klarenbeek
Erik van Woerkom (52), Oosterhout
Wim Berendsen (53), Barendrecht
Ad van den Brand (65), Etten-Leur.

The prize money:

Winner 3,000 euros
2nd 2,000 euros
3 to 4: 1,250 euros
5 to 8: 850 euros
9 to 12: 700 euros
13 to 16: 550 euros
Total prize money: 15,900 euros

The first rounds on Thursday start at 1.00pm

Thursday 10 January:
Dick Jaspers-Martien van der Spoel
Jeffrey Jorissen-Frans van Schaik
Glenn Hofman-Kay de Zwart
Huub Wilkowski-Roland Uijtdewillegen
Jean Paul de Bruijn-Therese Klompenhouwer
Dave Christiani-Raymund Swertz
Raimond Burgman-Barry van Beers
Jean van Erp-Wil Janssen

Then, followed by the pre-rounds on Friday as of 1:00pm and Saturday starting at 11:00am. On Saturday at 7:30pm and 9:00pm are the quarters, on Sunday the semi-finals at 10:30am and 12:30pm, the final at 3:00pm.

All matches will be streamed LIVEl on Kozoom.


Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom