News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - European Championship National Team - Saint-Brevin-les-Pins (FRA)

Eddy Merckx and Eddy Leppens defend the title

Posted by on October 25, 2011

Eddy Merckx and Eddy Leppens defend the title

© Kozoom photo
Eddy Leppens (Belgium A) and Frédéric Caudron (Belgium B) belong to the contenders for the title.

SAINT BREVIN - The Belgian team with Eddy Merckx and Leppens defends the title in the European championship for national teams, that will be played in Saint Brevin, France, from 3 until November 6. The tournament is played with twenty teams.

Besides the title holders, there will be lots of competitors at the start. The Turks Lütfi Cenet and Tayfun Tasdemir won the World championship for teams this year in the finals against Merckx and Leppens. The Spanish team with Dani Sánchez and Ruben Legazpi, the Belgian B-team with Frédéric Caudron and Peter de Backer, the Dutch team with Dick Jaspers and Raimond Burgman, the French team with Jérémy Bury and Jérôme Barbeillon, the Germans with Martin Horn and Christian Rudolph should not be underestimated.

Michael Nilsson performs the Swedish team in Saint Brevin, because Torbjörn Blomdahl will not play. Second man of the team is David Pennör. The Greeks will not send a team and Marco Zanetti does not play for Italy, where Emilio Sciacca's is the team captain,

The European championship will be played for the tenth time. The most successful was the Swedish team, that won the title with father and son Lennart and Torbjörn Blomdahl in 1985 (Copenhagen), 1987 (Barcelona) and 1991 (Rezé).

The tournament in Saint Brevin starts on Thursday, November 3 at 10:30 with the official opening. The first matches are at 11.00 between Croatia and Montenegro and Czech Republic and Finland.
The teams that will participate are:
Belgium A: Eddy Merckx, Eddy Leppens.
Belgium B: Frédéric Caudron, Peter de Backer.
Turkey: Lütfi Cenet, Tayfun Tasdemir.
Netherlands: Dick Jaspers, Raimond Burgman.
Spain: Dani Sánchez, Ruben Legazpi.
Germany: Martin Horn, Christian Rudolph.
Czech Republic: Ivo Gazdos, Martin Bohac.
Egypt: Sameh Sidhom, Ihab El Messery.
Switzerland: Rene Hendriksen, Torsten Danielsson.
France A: Jérémy Bury, Jérôme Barbeillon.
France B: Pierre Soumagne, Cédric Melnytschenko.
Italy: Emilio Sciacca, Francesco Orlando.
Montenegro: Danilo Brajovic, Vuk Brajovic.
Sweden: Michael Nilsson, David Pennör.
Luxembourg: Ramon Hamm, Bryan Temperlers.
Portugal: Manuel Rui Costa, Joao Pedro Ferreira.
Koratië: Slobodan Soro, Nadir Paulovic.
Finland: Jussi Tyrkkö, Johannes Kauhanen.
Denmark: Thomas Andersen, Lars Dunch.
Austria: Andreas Efler, Herbert Szivach.

Back to All News

My Comments

European Championship for Teams
Any chance that Kozoom will be able to stream any of the European Championship for Teams?

Message 1/2 - Publish at October 25, 2011 3:22 PM

not scheduled
John, in French we say: "Nul n'est prophète en son pays"

Message 2/2 - Publish at October 25, 2011 5:13 PM

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom