News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Supercup - Antwerp (BEL)

Jaspers, Sánchez, Caudron, Bury of Kim?

Posted by on February 10, 2017

Jaspers, Sánchez, Caudron, Bury of Kim?

© Kozoom
Dani Sánchez, the world champion in 2016, who was three times Player of the Year on a row

ANTWERP - Who will be voted Player of the Year at the Supercup Gala in the Hilton hotel in Antwerp on Saturday, March 4? Five players have been nominated on behalf of the federations and the top fifty players on the world rankings. The main contenders are Dick Jaspers and Dani Sánchez, the two players who play for the Supercup that night short sets to seven. The Spaniard Dani Sánchez was last year's world champion in Bordeaux, the Dutchman Dick Jaspers was crowned overall World Cup winner at the end of a long season. He was the best over seven World Cups.

For the title Player of the Year are nominated Jaspers, Sánchez, Frédéric Caudron, Jérémy Bury and Haeng-Jik Kim. The result will be announced on the evening itself.

Ludo Dielis led the press conference, visited by a representative of the City of Antwerp and the diamond trophy sponsor (with 618 diamonds), which can be definitely won by the player who is elected five times Player of the Year within three years. Dani Sánchez was the only player in the 12-year history who succeeded to win three times in a row.

The 13th gala does not differ so much from the previous editions, as Ludo Dielis made clear at the press conference on Friday morning in the Hilton hotel. The Belgian organizer pointed that the Supercup Gala doesn't attract only the billiards fans, also an audience of businessmen with some 400 guests.

The team, led by Luc Hulsmans as chairman, put down a wonderful World championship in Antwerp in 2013. Dielis: ,, We have shown in that tournament that billiards and three cushion are alive in Antwerp.''

Ludo Dielis: ,, The ingredients are known: the beautiful areana in the Hilton hotel, entertainment before and after the match, the best players of this moment, the loyal support of sponsors, the media, the City of Antwerp and of course the audience, who are offered the unique chance to see the top of three cushion live.''
The World 3-cushion Supercup is a match between the world champion and the winner of the World Cup. They play a 'best of three' with sets of seven caroms. The winner of the Supercup is awarded by 5.000 euros.

Semih Saygıner is the guest player to show his tric shots.

The winners of the previous editions:
2001: Torbjörn Blomdahl
2002: Torbjörn Blomdahl
2003: Semih Saygıner
2004: Dani Sánchez
2005: Dani Sánchez
2006: Dani Sánchez
2007: Ryuuji Umeda
2008: Marco Zanetti
2009: Frédéric Caudron
2010: Dick Jaspers
2015: Frédéric Caudron
2016: Torbjörn Blomdahl.

The organizer Ludo Dielis



Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom