News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - World Cup - Hurghada (EGY)

World Cup Hurghada in two hours fully booked

Posted by on October 15, 2013

World Cup Hurghada in two hours fully booked

© Harry van Nijlen/Kozoom
The 48 players for the World Cup in Hurghada in 2012

HURGHADA - The World Cup in Hurghada, the last of this year (1-7 December), has been fully booked after a few hours, according to the tradition. The tournament in the Egyptian tourist resort will be played for the first time at eight billiard tables this year. There is place for 148 players in the field.

The Hurghada World Cup is held for the twelfth time, for the eleventh time in the Sunrise Garden Beach.

The Egyptian UMB board member Farouk Barki, who arrived yesterday for the World championship in Antwerp, said: ,,I took my flight from Egypt at 12.00 and when I arrived in Brussels, the list was already full.’’

For the players, officials and fans it feel like a wonderful coming home in the Sunrise Garden Beach hotel, where Omar Samy, Alsharif Alhussein, Mohamed Soliman, Rageh Hosny, Nabil Salama and Susan Milbank so emphatically express the hospitality of their country.

Torbjörn Blomdahl, Frédéric Caudron, Marco Zanetti, Jérémy Bury and Sung-Won Choi top the list of twelve seeded players. The four wildcards, two of them from the organization, are not on the list so far. On this list there are 26 places reserved for players on the positions 13 to 64 on the world ranking. Further, still 25 places are open for Egyptian players.

The reserve list counts after one day even 27 players, including Ivo Gazdos, Tae Soo Lim, Young Chull Kim, Hyun Suk Kim, Ronny Lindemann and Ly The Vinh.

Farouk Barki expects that these 27 players will move on to the list of participants.

The top twelve for Hurghada:
1 Torbjörn Blomdahl, 2 Frédéric Caudron, 3 Marco Zanetti, 4 Jérémy Bury, 5 Sung-Won Choi, 6 Eddy Merckx, 7 Dick Jaspers, 8 Kyung-Roul Kim, 9 Dani Sánchez, 10 Dong Koong Kang, 11 Filippos Kasidokostas, 12 Cenet.

The best-known players on the list:
Savas Bulut, Can Capak, Tayfun Tasdemir, Murat Naci Coklu, Adnan Yüksel, Ahmet Alp, Jae Guen Kim, Hyung Bum Hwang, Jae Ho Cho, Choong-ok Lee, Jung Han Heo, Roland Forthomme, Glenn Hoffman, Jean Paul de Bruijn, Ruben Legazpi, Dave Christiani, Barry van Beers, Javier Palazón, Anh Vu Duong, Ma Xuan Cuong, Dinh Nai Ngo, Quyet Chien Tran, Arnim Kahofer, Leppens Eddy and Christian Rudolph.

Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom