News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - World Championship Ladies - Valencia (ESP)

World's ladies in Valencia: 24 players, double prize money

Posted by on August 30, 2019

World's ladies in Valencia: 24 players, double prize money

© Valencia tourism
The wonderful city of Valencia is hosting two World championships, ladies and juniors

VALENCIA - The organization of the three-cushion World championship for ladies in Valencia has announced the 24 players to compete for the title. Therese Klompenhouwer, triple world champion, is the title defender, Japanese Orie Hida has four titles to her name. The playing room is the Ateneo Mercantil de Valencia, the tournament is played from Monday, September 30 to Wednesday, October 2 and is followed by the World championship for juniors at the same location from October 3-5.

The prize money has been doubled compared to last year, when there was a premium system for the ladies for the first time: 2000 euros for the winner, now doubled to 4000 euros.

The opening ceremony for the ladies Championship is Monday, September 30 at 10.00. The qualifications are played to 25 points with 8 groups of 3, of which the first two players in each group advance to the best sixteen. The final rounds are played to 30 points. The invitations have been sent to the reigning world champion Therese Klompenhouwer, 10 players from Europe, 6 from Asia, 5 from America, 1 from Africa and 1 wildcard from the organization. Tournament director is Mr. Eduardo Rifaterra.

Three participants are from the Netherlands, which may delegate the world champion, two from Turkey, four from Colombia, two from Japan, two from Korea and one player from Vietnam for the first time. Therese Klompenhouwer: ''The player from Vietnam is the only surprising name, I have never heard of her. Most of the other players are known very well from the tournaments."

The participants:
Therese Klompenhouwer (Neth)
Joke Breur (Neth)
Gülsen Degener (Tur)
Irena Hambalkova (Cz)
Steffi Daske (Ger)
Marianne Mortensen (Den)
Danielle le Bruyn (Bel)
Céline Jacques (Fra)
Estela Cardoso (Spa)
Helga Mitterböck (Aus)
Karina Jetten (Neth)
Guzin Mujde Karakasli (Tur)
Johanne Sandoval (Col)
Martha Castro (Col)
Jackeline Perez (Peru)
Soledad Gomez (Col)
Edna Vargas (Col)
Min A Kim (Kor)
Orie Hida (Jap)
Phung Kien Tuong (Vie)
Pheavy Sruong (Cam)
Ayako Sakai (Jap)
Hyunji Yong (Kor)
Ana Juarez (Spa)

The group formats:

Group A: Therese Klompenhouwer Joke Breur, Johanna Sandoval
Group B: Pheavy Sruong, Céline Jacques, Ana Juarez
Group C: Orie Hida, Min A Kim, Karina Jetten
Group D: Gülsen Degener, Estela Cardoso, Hyunji Yong
Group E: Güzin Mujde Karakasli, Helga Mitterböck, Edna Vargas
Group F: Steffi Daske, Jackeline Perez, Soledad Gomez
Group G: Ayako Sakai, Daniëlle le Bruyn, Phung Kien Tuong
Group H: Irena Hambalkova, Marianne Mortensen, Martha Castro.

Prize money:
Winner: 4,000 euros
2nd: 3,000
3rd/4th: 2,000
5-8: 1,500
9-16: 1,000
17-24: 250.



Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom