News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Campeonato de España Damas y Sub-25 - Los Narejos (ESP)

Estela Cardoso and Luis Mira best in Spain

Posted by on May 10, 2022

Estela Cardoso and Luis Mira best in Spain

© Spanish federation
The winners and the final players in the two championships

LOS NAREJOS - Two championships were played in the training centre of the Spanish billiard federation in Los Narejos. Luis Mira is the new champion under 25, Estela Cardoso was the winner in the ladies. On the youth podium were also Juan J. Pereyra, Marcos Morales and Sergio Martínez. Estela Cardoso won the gold medal in the women's category ahead of Yeimy Mancipe, Ana María Clérico and Ana Juárez.

The early elimination of Ivan Mayor, current European champion, was the big surprise in the group stage. Seven firsts and the best second reached the quarter-finals. It was just Luis Mira who got the place as best second behind Juan Pereyra, while Iván Mayor, as well as other top players like Adriá García, Dani Peña or Toni García, were eliminated.

Luis Mira defeated Sergio Martínez in the semi-finals (40-34 in 48), Juanjo Pereya went to the final with the best match of the tournament against Marcos Morales 40-23 in 29. The finalists played a tactical match in which Luis Mira won and became the new Spanish champion: 40-36 in 52.

Estela Cardoso, the big favorite, lived up to the expectations and won her tenth national title. Ten players in three groups took part in the event. The three group leaders and the best runner-up qualified for the final.

As with the under 25, it was the best runner-up in the group who later won the gold medal, because in Group A, Ana María Clérico came first and Estela Cardoso second. In the semi-finals, Cardoso and Clérico faced each other again and this time the victory went to Cardoso (30-16 in 43), while Yeimy Mancipe won against Ana Juárez (17-13 in 50). In the decisive match, Estela Cardoso was the better of Yeimy Mancipe 30-25 in 49. The Madrid player of Escuela Nacional thus obtained her seventh consecutive Spanish title and a total of 22 medals in the 22 championships played in history (10 times gold, 7 times silver and 5 times bronze).

The averages under 25:
1 Luis Mira 0.757
2 Juan J Pereyra 0.855
3 Marcos Morales 0.899
4 Sergio Martinez 0.747.

1 Estela Cardoso 0.567
2 Yelmy Mancipe 0.425
3 Ana Maria Clerico 0.453
3 Ana Juarez 0.320.




Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom