News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Dutch Cup - Berlicum (NED)

JUMBO Cupfinal, champions gala in Holland

Posted by on June 12, 2019

JUMBO Cupfinal, champions gala in Holland

© Ton Smilde
The Cupwinner last year, STZ Zundert, defends its title

BERLICUM - The Benelux theater in Berlicum will open its doors for the JUMBO Cup Final from tomorrow, Thursday June 13 until Sunday June 16. The eight teams to show up have qualified for the annual climax after the marathon of team competitions for the Dutch Cup. The tournament promises to be a real champions gala. The brand new Dutch team champion L&B Ledermode enters the arena, which, according to the reputation of the organizers, will breath a great billiard atmosphere. And also among the players are other great champions, with the all time champion, 81-year-old Raymond Ceulemans in the lead, with the reigning cup holder STZ Zundert and the world and European champions for men and women: Dick Jaspers and Therese Klompenhouwer. The program includes three days of group matches and on Sunday the semi-finals and final.

For those who cannot attend the matches live, there are the live broadcasts of Kozoom, that will show all matches directly.

Harry Mathijssen and Ad Smout, the organizers on behalf of Stichting B.E.N. announced not so long ago: "We're going to Berlicum." There, in D'n Durpsherd, is the Dutch billiard mecca for major events since 2015. "We have renamed the D'n Durpsherd theater hall to Benelux theatre, because of its central location and international appearance," explains the organizing duo. ''It is our task to live up to the high expectations. We are eager to turn it into a true billiards event, so come enjoy our 'Brabant' hospitality and the high class billiards that you can see during this weekend."

The field of eight teams consists of six teams from the Buffalo league and two teams from the first division. Among them is Man op Maat/'t Caves with Raymond Ceulemans as the main champion. Other famous players are: Dick Jaspers, Eddy Merckx, Therese Klompenhouwer, Eddy Leppens, Roland Forthomme, Frans van Kuyk, Jef Philipoom and Dave Christiani. For Kurt Ceulemans, the tournament will be a special run-up to the World Cup in Blankenberge, which starts on Monday and of which he is the organizer. Also unique is that three generations Ceulemans are among the participants: Raymond, his son Kurt and grandsons Peter and Bart Ceulemans.

Paul Brekelmans, chairman of the 3-cushion section of the KNBB, is co-organizer with his board of this JUMBO Cup Final 2019.

The last ten winners of the cup final are:
2018, Oosterhout: STZ Zundert
2017, Oosterhout:
2016, Rijsbergen: De Distel Biljarts
2015, Rijsbergen: Dallinga
2014, Zundert: Dallinga/Frans Bevers
2013, Zundert: Dallinga/Frans Bevers
2012, Zundert: TOVV.NL/MCR
2011, Zundert: Van Donge&De Roo
2010, Rijsbergen: Van Donge&De Roo
2009, Rijsbergen: Van Donge&De Roo.

The time schedule this weekend:
Thursday 13 June from 1 pm (last round 7 pm): group matches round 1
Friday, June 14 from 1 pm (last round 7 pm): group matches round 2
Saturday, June 15 from 1 pm (last round 7 pm): group matches round 3
Sunday, June 16 from 10 am (semi-finals)
14.30 and 16.30: final matches.

The groups and players:

Poule A:

STZ Zundert, Zundert
Roland Forthomme
Peter Ceulemans
Barry van Beers
Rik van Beers
Roland Uijtdewillegen
Sam van Etten

Team Eekhoorn, Oosterhout
Frans van Kuyk
Kurt Ceulemans
Jack Wijnen
Jerry Hermans
Kenny Miatton

't Ivoor, Boxtel
Huub Wilkowski
Jack van Peer
Marc Roofthooft
Richard Berkelmans

Beekman HPL, Haarlem
Sander Jonen
Volkan Cetin
Marcel Scheffer
Ger Windt

Poule B:

L&B Ledermode, Hoeven
Eddy Merckx
Dave Christiani
Gerwin Valentijn
John Tijssens

HCR Prinsen, Haarlo
Dick Jaspers
Eddy Leppens
Anno de Kleine
Jelle Pijl
Raymund Swertz

Burgmans Biljarts, Bergeijk
Marco Janssen
Therese Klompenhouwer
Bart Ceulemans
Bert van Manen

Man op Maat/'t Caves, Winterle
Jef Philipoom
Raymond Ceulemans
Leslie Menheer
Wil Janssen
Martijn Roefs
Johan Zwiers.

The referees: Paul Brekelmans, Gilbert Princen, Ad van den Brand, Erik van Woerkom, Ton Mangelaars, Willem Hofman, Wil Kanen, Henry Thijssen, Christel van Reekum, Samantha Stout.




Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom