News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - National League Honor Division (ESP)

Many world players in Spanish team league

Posted by on October 6, 2021

 Many world players in Spanish team league

© Spanish league
The Paiporta team was the league champion two years in a row

MADRID - With many famous players from home and abroad, the Spanish league is launched next Saturday (9 October) in three divisions with a total of 49 teams. The 37th edition follows two seasons with hiccups in the competition due to COVID. The organisers are confident to enter a big spectacle, perhaps the biggest in the history of three-cushion history in Spain. The big stars will be in the spotlight especially in the main division, the División de Honor. The many changes within the teams and transfers make the National League in Spanish billiards the most interesting competition of the season.

The top Spanish players in action include Dani Sánchez, Ruben Legazpi, David Zapata, David Martinez and Javier Palazón. Of the foreign players, Eddy Merckx, Peter Ceulemans, Michael Nilsson, Roland Forthomme, Gwendal Maréchal, Jérémy Bury, Jeffrey Jorissen, Robinson Morales, Jef Philipoom, Rui Costa and Dave Christiani are known players.

Especially the team of CB Paiporta, champion in the last two seasons, has undergone major changes in its line-up. The strong starting quartet (Javier Palazón, Sergio Jiménez, Xavier Yeste and Jorge Cantó) will no longer play for the Valencian team this season. The reigning champion has kept Francisco Unguetti in its line-up and has contracted Andalusians Jaime Sánchez Faraco and Manuel González Castrillo. Alberto Sintas from Cartagena, formerly of Gandía, will also play in the team, as will Toni Ortiz junior, the former Spanish champion who has not been in competition for a few years.

Móstoles, second position in the last season, is missing José María Más and has received reinforcements from Rubén Fernández, the young player from Madrid who played in Palma's foursome in recent seasons. The Legazpi stronghold (Rubén, Adrián and Alfonso, in that order) once again leads a team that has Andrés Ansón for any unforeseen circumstances. The Madrid squad, which will soon inaugurate a new headquarters, is making a bid for the title that has eluded the team in recent years.

Amadeo Gandía maintains most of the team players. Peter Ceulemans, last season's best player of all leading players, and Gwendal Maréchal form the successful foreign duo in the Gandía team.

Castalla is a mixture of youth and veterans in the line-up: David Martínez, Jesús Rico, Andrés Carrión and Iván Mayor among the youth and Carlos Carrión and José Javier Gimeno among the veterans. Jorge Cantó, champion with Paiporta in last two years, has joined this team. Belgians Eddy Merckx, number three in the world, and 'Rolandinho' Forthomme will give the team more impetus from time to time.

Matadepera Cachute is one of the clubs promoted to the highest category this season. The team has José María Más in its ranks, following his time with Móstoles. CB Valencia want to play their way into the top ranks and have strengthened themselves with Javier Palazón, although the former Paiporta player will spend most of the season in Korea. Two familiar faces are Michael Nilsson and Dave Christiani, along with Pierre Soumagne, who is new to the club Maritimo this season.

Madrid Escuela Nacional also wants to take a step forward. This time the home-grown players have been joined by a large foreign contribution. Robinson Morales, Jeffrey Jorissen and Mikael Devogelaere are part of the team.

Cartagena, one of the revelations in last season, has Erik Téllez, the young Costa Rican, in its ranks this season. David Zapata, the team's number one, will play when his PBA commitments allow, as well as Valencian former world junior champion Carlos Anguita.

Palma has undergone another revamp this season. With Dani Sánchez, Carlos Crespo and Jordi Garriga, the island team has signed two more top players: Antonio Montes and the Spanish runner-up, Ricardo García.

Illustrious billiard players will also play in the First Division: Sergio Jiménez, Xavier Yeste, Armando Moreno and Esteve Mata in the Dream Team of Vic; Jesús Jiménez in Alcantarilla, Jérémy Bury, Rui Costa and Joao Ferreira in the Ateneo Mercantil and Xavier Minguell in Barcelona.

It will certainly be enjoyable to see the high level in the Spanish league in the 2021/22 season.

Peter Ceulemans (left) with his Spanish team in which also Gwendal Maréchal will be a protoganist




Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom