News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Trophy of the Legends - Eeklo (BEL)

Start of the Legends Trophy in Eeklo

Posted by on June 18, 2018

Start of the Legends Trophy in Eeklo

© Eeklose
The organizer Leslie Menheer invites all billiard fans to visit the Legends Trophy

EEKLO - On the early Monday morning, the day after the successful World Cup in Blankenberge, the kick-off was given in Eeklo for the Trophy of the Legends. The tournament is open to players over 65 years of age. The preliminaries have started today. The eight seeded players, with well-known names like Raymond Ceulemans, Ludo Dielis, Rini van Bracht, Richard Bitalis and Jose Maria Quetglas, will come on Thursday in the tournament together with eight players from the qualification.

The pre-rounds are played in the Montana and Eiktak halls. The main event is in the Cultural Center De Herbakker at the Pastoor de Nevestraat 10 in Eeklo.

The Trophy of the Legends is an initiative of the Koninklijke Eeklose Biljartclub led by its chairman Leslie Menheer. Kozoom broadcasts the matches live in the main draw. The major competitor of Raymond Ceulemans and Ludo Dielis in their glorious years, the Japanese Nobuaki Kobayashi, had to cancel due to medical problems. His son Hideaki, who played the World Cup in Blankenberge, was at the opening of the tournament.

The eight wildcards have been distributed to Raymond Ceulemans, Ludo Dielis (Belgium), Rini van Bracht (Netherlands), José Maria Quetglas (Spain), Richard Bitalis (France), Paul Stroobants (Belgium), Hans Jurgen Kuhl (Germany) and Poul Bjerring (Denmark).

The winner will be rewarded by 2000 euros, the number two receives 1500, the numbers three and four 1000 euros. The total prize amount is 10,300 euros. On Saturday evening a Legends Evening will be organized in Salons Mimosa from 19.30.

The preliminaries are played with a number of known names from Belgium and the Netherlands like Martin Spoormans, Hiroshi Sasaki, Jef Gijsels, Leon Smolders, Pierre Cornelissen, Marc Roofthooft, Ben Velthuis, Freddy Staelens, Roger van Hoylandt , Louis and Meerten Dallinga, René Vermeiren and Joop van den Oudenhoven.


Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom