News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Worldchampionship National Teams - Viersen (GER)

Team line-ups and groups for WC Viersen

Posted by on February 14, 2017

Team line-ups and groups for WC Viersen

© Kozoom/Korea
The Dutch team with Dick Jaspers and Jean van Erp defends the world title

VIERSEN - The organization of the World championship for national teams in Viersen has received the final list of teams and players. Only the Netherlands are scheduled with two teams. Dick Jaspers and Jean van Erp defend their world title. The World championship will be held from 9th to 12th March. The individual world champion Dani Sánchez, who is in Japan for business for the moment, is missing in the Spanish team. He's not a big fan of the system. ,,I never played Scotch Double, so I don't want to test it at a World championship.''

The list of participants includes 24 teams: 17 from Europe, three from South America, three from Asia, one from Africa. The tournament is played according to the Scotch Double system.

The venue is the Festhalle in Viersen, the organizer is the German Billard Federation DBU. Kurt Dahlhaus is the arbiter. The opening ceremony is on Thursday, March 9th at 11.00.

The team line-up is related to the national rankings and/or national championships. The Belgians come to Viersen with Frédéric Caudron and Roland Forthomme, the Germans with Ronny Lindemann and Martin Horn, in the French, Jérémy Bury is missing. The French team will play with Jérôme Barbeillon and Cédric Melnytschenko.

For the Koreans will show up, Sung-Won Choi and Jae Guen Kim, the Turkish team playes with Tayfun Tasdemir and Can Capak, the Spaniards with Javier Palazón and Ruben Legazpy, the multiple champion couple Torbjörn Blomdahl and Michael Nilsson represent Sweden. Colombia comes with Robinson Morales and Henry Diaz and Netherlands B with Raimond Burgman and Barry van Beers.

The groups:

Group A: Belgium, Luxembourg and the Czech Republic
Group B: Germany, Switzerland, Greece
Group C: Netherlands A, Portugal, Colombia
Group D: Turkey, Italy, Peru
Group E: Denmark, France, Argentina
Group F: Spain, Sweden, Jordan
Group G: South Korea, Egypt, Hungary
Group H: Japan, Austria, the Netherlands B.

The final players last year: Dick Jaspers, Semih Sayginer, Lütfi Cenet and Jean van Erp. The Dutch team starts in the same line-up, the Turks play with Can Capak and Tayfun Tasdemir

The team composition:

Netherlands A: Dick Jaspers, Jean van Erp
Germany: Ronny Lindemann, Martin Horn
Belgium: Frédéric Caudron, Roland Forthomme
Turkey: Can Capak, Tayfun Tasdemir
France: Jérôme Barbeillon, Cédric Melnytschenko
Spain: Javier Palazón, Ruben Legazpi
Austria: Arnim Kahofer, Andreas Efler
Denmark: Tonny Carlsen, Allan Schröder
Greece: Nikos Polychronopoulos, Kostas Kokkoris
Luxembourg: Gerard Goedert, Brice Briere
Sweden: Torbjörn Blomdahl, Michael Nilsson
Czech Republic: Martin Bohac, Radek Novak
Portugal: Rui Costa, Joao Ferreira
Italy: Marco Zanetti, Fabrizio Corteze
Hungary: Peter Varga, Tamas Szolnoki
Switzerland: Cetin Behzat Xavier Gretillat
Netherlands B: Raimond Burgman, Barry van Beers
Colombia: Robinson Morales, Henry Diaz
Peru: Christopher Tevez, José Torreblanca
Argentina: Fabian Oliveto, Guillermo Perez
South Korea: Sung-Won Choi, Jae Guen Kim
Japan: Hideaki Kobayashi, Nobuyasu Sakai
Jordan: Mash Hour Abu Tayeh, Naseer Awwad
Egypt: Sameh Sidhom, Riad Nady.



Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom