News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Lausanne Billard Masters - Lausanne (SUI)

The president at Lausanne Masters is in full control

Posted by on November 17, 2021

The president at Lausanne Masters is in full control

© Lausanne Billard Masters
The 8th Lausanne Billards Masters will be launched this Friday with the world's best players

LAUSANNE - The initiative came from Diane Wild, the current European billiards president, in 2013, because she wanted to continue the success of the World Championship three cushion in Lausanne. The Lausanne Billard Masters since that year has definitively entered the international calendar. The list of winners in these seven years is impressive: three times Dick Jaspers, twice Marco Zanetti, once Dani Sánchez, once Eddy Merckx. Four players from the top five of the world ranking list: which organisation can present such a list of honour in such a short time.

The organiser of the Lausanne Billard Masters, which is being held for the eighth time this year, is in full control since the start. That means: she is in charge of the accommodation, the venue, the players, the sponsors, the transport, the contact with the media, the guests and the accreditations. Diane Wild admits it honestly: ''We don't have the money to pay someone to take on all those tasks.'' She also assures: ''The people involved do a wonderful job during the event. With the venue, the logistic, the construction of the hall and the stands. We are so lucky to have a lot of volunteers from the city of Lausanne. All these 30 people are still the same from the very beginning. And also from that start, Daniel Viquerat is the responsible person.''

The format has not changed in all these years: three days of playing (this year on Friday 19, Saturday 20 and Sunday 21 November), still three groups of four players, 40 points for the games, 40-second shot clock. The players are carefully selected, for example on positions on the world ranking list, for some years now supplemented by one lady, one young talent and one Swiss player. Dick Jaspers, the number one in the world, is this year's defending champion, Therese Klompenhouwer the world champion in the ladies, Torbjörn Blomdahl in the men's, Nikolaus Kogelbauer the young, talented Austrian, Michel Boulaz the Swiss guest player.

The schedule on the first day (Friday) has changed slightly. The Turkish players have to perform in a tournament for their country, so they can only travel on Friday. Therefore Diane Wild has had to swap the first two games.
The programme for the first day is now:
12.15: Dani Sánchez-Dion Nelin, Dick Jaspers-Michel Boulaz
14.15: Semih Sayginer-Jérémy Bury, Eddy Merckx-Nikolaus Kogelbauer.

Diane Wild says on the eve of the Lausanne start: ''First of all I am very happy that we are back in live after one year of not being able to play. And that we were able to invite these players again for our wonderful tournament. The Lausanne Billard Masters is first and foremost about inviting the strongest players from the world rankings and about promoting women's and youth billiards. I can also share some very good news. We all know that our sport is not very popular in Switzerland. But I am very happy that, for the first time in eight years, we can welcome Swiss television on Sunday.''

The dress code is polo shirts for the first time. ''The COVID rules are like everywhere else, I hope we will still attract many spectators to our tournament.''

The players in the groups are:

Group A: Dick Jaspers, Semih Sayginer, Jérémy Bury, Michel Boulaz
Group B: Eddy Merckx, Dani Sánchez, Dion Nelin, Nikolaus Kogelbauer
Group C: Tayfun Tasdemir, Torbjörn Blomdahl, Jun Tae Kim, Therese Klompenhouwer.
(Marco Zanetti had to cancel due to injury to his arm and elbow).
For the first time the organisation has invited two ladies as referees: E. Docquier (Belgium) and C. van Reekum (Netherlands).
The tournament will be played at the Casino de Montbenon. The website:

The rest of the programme on the first day:
17.00: Torbjörn Blomdahl-Jun Tae Kim, Tayfun Tasdemir-Therese Klompenhouwer
19.15: Dick Jaspers-Jérémy Bury, Semih Sayginer-Michel Boulaz
21.15: Eddy Merckx-Dion Nelin, Dani Sánchez-Nikolaus Kogelbauer.

Second day, Saturday:
10.00: Tasdemir-Kim, Blomdahl-Klompenhouwer
12.15: Jaspers-Sayginer, Bury-Boulaz
14.30: Merckx-Sánchez, Nelin-Kogelbauer
16.45: Tasdemir-Blomdahl, Kim-Klompenhouwer.
19.00: Quarter-finals 1 and 2, 21.15 Quarter-finals 2 and 3.

10.00: first semifinal
12.00: second semifinal
14.30: final.

The list of honour:
2013: Marco Zanetti
2014: Marco Zanetti
2015: Dick Jaspers
2016: Dani Sánchez
2017: Dick Jaspers
2018: Eddy Merckx
2019: Dick Jaspers.

The matches can be watched live on YouTube: Five&Six

Dick Jaspers, the title defender and three times winner in Lausanne

The players and the groups in Lausanne



Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom