News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - 3-Cushion - Danish National Championship - Copenhague (DEN)

Varde Billard Club wins Danish team championship

Posted by on May 2, 2022

Varde Billard Club wins Danish team championship

© Varde BK
The winning team with Eddy Merckx, Tommy Magnussen, Allan Schrøder, teamleader Kim Krogh, Thomas Andersen and Thomas Wollerup.

GRØNDAL - The final-four playoff tournament in Denmark was held these days in Grøndal, Copenhagen and won by BK Varde with its leading player Eddy Merckx. The home team consisting of Dion Nelin, Brian Knudsen, Jacob Haack-Sørensen and Lars Dunch had the home advantage thanks to a strong performance throughout the seasons home and away games in the elitedivision. With the three other participating teams, Varde, Vejle and Aalborg, a round robin format was played in the tense atmosphere of the club in front of a cheering crowd.

The final match of the competition was quite a treat for the audience with really close results and a spectacular comeback from Jacob Haack-Sørensen, a strong final run by Thomas Andersen, tested the nerves of the crowd. First match to end was Haack-Sørensen beating Schrøder 42-39 in 30 innings. Haack-Sørensen ran 10 at the end of the match, after trailing most of the match.

Eddy Merckx scored 50 in 32 innings with Nelin at 45. In the equalizing inning Nelin ran just 3. Meanwhile, at the very same minute on table two Knudsen had minimized the gap to Andersen by
just five points, 31-36, with a couple of good runs. Thomas Andersen then proofed his coolness by running 14 points. What a timing! On the fourth table Dunch defeated Magnussen 42-39.
The draw in that deciding match meant that Varde - just like last season won the team championship.

Nelin - Merckx: 48-50 in 32 innings.
Knudsen - Andersen: 33-50 in 32 innings.
Haack-Sørensen - Schrøder: 42-39 in 30 innings.
Dunch - Magnussen: 42-39 in 37 innings.

In the first match Grøndal won 6-2 against Aalborg. Dion Nelin defeated Poul Bjerring 50-39 in 37 innings, Jacob Haack-Sørensen proofed his strength defeating Claus Pedersen 42-19 in 23 innings and on fourth table struggling with somewhat surprising short angles, Lars Dunch defeated Mark Høghdal 42-21 in 60 innings. The surprise of this round was Jesper Straagaard, former silver medal winner individual, defeated Brian Knudsen 50-45 in 31 innings.

In the second round Varde defeated Vejle 8-0 through 4 rather convincingly wins:
Eddy Merckx - Allan Keith: 50-36 in 33 innings.
Thomas Andersen - Benny Staalbo: 50-42 in 38 innings.
Allan Schrøder - Michael Toudahl: 42-32 ind 38 innings.
Tommy Magnussen - Michael Malberg: 42-29 in 41 innings.

Grøndal defeated Vejle 5-3 in the last match Friday. The small margin would later proof important as a draw in the final match against Varde would leave the ambitious team with silver.

Dion Nelin - Allan Keith: 50-50 in 34 innings.
Brian Knudsen - Benny Staalbo: 50-45 in 45 innings.
Jacob Haack-Sørensen - Michael Toudahl: 42-32 ind 33 innings.
Lars Dunch - Michael Malberg: 41-42 in 50 innings.

The first match on Saturday morning at 10.00 turned out to be a rather decisive moment, as Varde playing team average 1,304 won 8-0 against Aalborg, and thus opening for a draw against Grøndal later on resulting in gold medals.

In the direct encounter deciding third place, Vejle defeated Aalborg 5-3.

Thomas Andersen, one of the players in the winning team shining with a final run of 14



Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom