News Carom Billiard


Carom Billiard - Carom - European Championship - Brandenburg (GER)

With eight players to the final round in 47/2

Posted by on April 29, 2015

With eight players to the final round in 47/2

© Harry van Nijlen/
Marek Faus was the ranking leader after the preliminaries in 47/2

BRANDENBURG - The elimination of Raymund Swertz, who was the European champion two years ago in 47/2, was the main surprise in this discipline in the qualifying rounds. Eight groups of three battled for eight places in the quarter finals. The Czech player Marek Faus was the number one with 4 points and 100.00 average.

The Frenchman Willy Gérimont sparkled with the maximum run of 200 from the break in his first match, but was eliminated by the Dutchman Michel van Silfhout in his second group match (200-152 in 5).

Raymund Swertz played two draws in his group with Eddy Leppens (200-200 in 3) and Patrick Dumont (5 innings), Leppens was the group winner with three match points.

The group winners with match points, averages and highest run:

1 Marek Faus 4-100.00-196

2 Michel van Silfhout 4-57.14-175

3 Xavier Gretillat 4-57.14-195

4 Patrick Niessen 4-50.00-118

5 Nicolas Gerassimopoulos 4-33.33-156

6 Sven Daske 4-28571

7 Eddy Leppens 3-80.00-199

8 Thomas Nockemann 2-59.66-137.

The quarte finals for this morning (Wednesday) 9.00 am:




Leppens-Van Silfhout.

The 5 pins individually was an Italian affair. Michelangelo Aniello grabbed the gold medal after a  win against Thomas Primon 3-1 (49-60, 60-44, 60-58, 60-41).

The Dutch final in free game under 21 on the match table was won by Sam van Etten, who defeated the tournament's best player Ferry Jong in the final 300-0 in 3 innings. Jong had the best average (61.36), Van Etten had 38.91. Sam van Etten made the highest run of the final round in the final match: 299.

The Turk Ardan Güngör is the new European champion three-cushion under 17 on the small table. He defeated in the final the Spaniard Daniel Pena 25-20 in 20 innings.

The three cushion on the small table was launched for its long marathon. Peter De Backer put in the best performance with a match over 25 caroms in five innings (5.000).

Peter De Backer finished off in 5 innings: 5.000 average at the small table

The group leaders:

Peter De Backer 5.000

Yvo Gazdos 2.500

Byrol Uymaz 2.173

Matthy Monnissen: 1.562

Markus Pfeiffer 1.315

Berry Dallinga 1.282

Matthias Pfeifer 1.250

Peter Meersman 1.219

Jaroslav Korec 1.190

Raymon Groot 1.136

Kay de Zwart 1.086

Radovan Hajek 0.833

Ingo Fischer 0.766

Rick van Aspert 0.633.

Back to All News

My Comments

Be the first to post a comment

Post new comment

Log in or register now to leave a comment

Forgot your password?

Don’t have an account yet?

Sign up now for free to post comments, add your photos, partipate in our forums and receive exclusive Newsletter.

Then you can get a Premium Pass for a full Live and Video access.

Join Kozoom